World Book Day 2018

Photo Apr 23, 8 30 47 PM

Happy #WorldBookDay!

Here’s what I’m in the middle of:

Book Group Selection: The Pursuit of Happyness by Chris Gardner. I hadn’t read this book but did enjoy the movie in theater when it released several years ago. After catching it again recently on Netflix, it renewed my interest and sparked my curiosity for a deeper, more detailed telling of the author’s time living on the streets. So I’ve been just a little surprised to find so far that that’s not really what the book is about. In my opinion it has read much more as a Bildungsroman; his experience with homelessness is really only covered over the course of a few pages, and only nearly until the end of the book at that! So…not what I was expecting, but not at all a disappointment, either. It is still a very engrossing read of his coming-of-age and how he came to be at his current station in life.  .

With the Baby: Even Superheroes Use the Potty by Sara Crow. A funny and cute picture book meant to appeal and pique the interest of toddlers but mine still won’t sit down long enough to read it 🙄. At two years old, he stays on the go and pretty much has minimal to no interest in toilet training right now. But I’ll continue to dream, and continue to read this to him, in hopes that one day real soon it will click!

Bedtime Reading with the Older Two: we are working our way through the Laura Ingalls Wilder Little House books and are currently on the fifth tome By The Shoresof Silver Lake. I read this series Every. Single. Year when I was in elementary school. Even as a kid I was fascinated with “the way things were” in the past and how people lived everyday life. In rereading now I have found myself raising my eyebrows quite a few times as some of the details are not as friendly or… idyllic as my childhood memory recalls. But overall I am enjoying revisiting this series and introducing this historical period to the kids. I’m also ridiculously excited to learn that there is finally an official Laura Ingalls Wilder biography! I can’t wait to read once the kids and I finish with these!

Solo Read: The Giver by Lois Lowry. I can still recall how BIG this title was in middle school and how students seemingly enjoyed it despite its status largely as part of the dreaded and unpopular required reading list. So I’m not sure how I missed somehow missed out on this one; I’m not even sure what prompted me recently to just now put it at the top of my “to read” list 🤷🏽‍♀️All I know is that I’m so glad that I did! Books like these are the biggest reason why I still frequently troll the library’s YA section: they’re that good. And there’s just not many things out there better than finding and  reading a book that’s good. 

Please share if you’re currently reading anything good!

11 thoughts on “World Book Day 2018

  1. Nothing brings more joy than reading a good book. I saw the movie the Pursuit of Happiness, never read the book, I bet it’s way better than the movie.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The movie seems more “inspired” by the book rather than a real and true accounting. Usually I hate when the movie strays too far from the book but in this instance I enjoyed both!

      Like

  2. Nice little round up of books. I just finished the Rosie Project and am just getting back into reading as an adult for enjoyment. My boys enjoy books as well, but it’s not something they go to during free time (they would rather be having battles with star wars figures). Thanks for the ideas.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good for you for getting back into it! Same way for me. After burning out in college and then back to back babies, I fell off with it for a time. Read w the kids but not for myself. Had to force myself to start again but so glad I did. Looking up the Rosie Project now 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment